Congratulations to the class of 2022!

Wednesday, May 25, 2022


As UVA Today rightly says, it was a hottest show in town. With temperatures climbing well over 90 degrees, but also so many people being able to celebrate together, in-person, for the first time after 2019. We persevered two tough years, especially tough for language classes that are more difficult to run on Zoom. We were happy to see parents taking pictures of their students with professors, and everyone floating around among festive balloons, and enjoying this special time.

Congratulations and best wishes, class 2022!


Bachelor of Arts in Chinese Language & Literature

John Chen

Rose Huang

Olivia Ann Hope Morrison

Emily Avery Porter

Campbell Turner

Jacob Thomas Waters


Bachelor of Arts in Japanese Language & Literature

Yuqian Chen -- Japanese National Honor Society

Mary Catherine Clark Dudley

Chae Young Kim

Alena Joan Mackay-Smith -- Japanese National Honor Society

Mina Mori -- 2022 Michiko N. Wilson Award Winner, Japanese National Honor Society

Alice Perrine -- Japanese National Honor Society

Kieran Nathaniel Williams

Serena Elizabeth Wood -- Japanese National Honor Society


Bachelor of Arts in East Asian Studies

William Eliot Bird

Elise Eunhae Kim

Alyssa Marie Luehring

Chloe Samantha Miller

James Barnabas Moreau

Heather Michelle Moser

Madeline Haley Pannell

Sojung Park -- Elected to Phi Beta Kappa in 2021

Ryu J Patterson

Qiyun Qiu -- 2021 Michiko N. Wilson Award Winner, Japanese National Honor Society

Lauren Elizabeth Roos

Yixin Tang -- Graduated in Fall 2021, Elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Kirsten McKenzie Woosley -- Elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Xinyue Yan

Qing Zhang


Minor in Chinese Language & Literature

David Ahmadi

Danning Laine Bisaga

Kal Encarnacion Buscaino

Roark R. Corson

Carolyn Haden Cunningham

Ashley Raven Deng

Lisette Dubow

Anya Faruki

Laura Nicole Feng

Brendan Timothy Grubb

Alexandra Lee Hartman

Devin Hill -- graduated in Fall 2021

Camillia Yen Ha Nguyen

Seth Gabriel Snyder

Zejun Zhu


Minor in Japanese Language & Literature

Lichen Dong -- Japanese National Honor Society

Andres Maximiliano Esparza

Yicong Fu -- Japanese National Honor Society

Ashley Kim -- Japanese National Honor Society

Seungeon Kim -- Japanese National Honor Society

Alexander Takuya Kofi Kyereboah

Tanya Mekavibul -- Japanese National Honor Society

Hongyang Qi -- Japanese National Honor Society

John Yun -- Japanese National Honor Society


Minor in Korean Language & Literature

Asia Halter

Yuxin Huan

Abigail Lynn LeGear

Joanne Min

Jacob Park --– graduated in Fall 2021

Supriya Savaram

Briana Shalonis

Michael Jeong Yoo


Minor in East Asian Studies

Emily Akira Bevan ---- graduated in Fall 2021

Daniel Jisuk Choi

Joseph Frank Gorzka III

Dean Heflin

Olga Catherine Metcalf

Taylor Gabrielle Milch

Kathleen Ray Sharman